Wolves Lit Fest Poetry Competition 2022

It’s time to announce the winners of our Wolves Lit Fest poetry competition, as chosen by our judge Casey Bailey, poet laureate of Birmingham. This year, our theme was ‘the sounds of the city’, and the response – from around the world – was amazing. It’s been very pleasing to see so many poets from all across the Midlands featuring among the prize-winners and in the shortlist, while the addition of the new WV postcode prize has meant we’ve been able to highlight some of the amazing poetry talent in and around our city.

Here’s what Casey had to say about his role as competition judge:

“It was both hard work and a real pleasure judging this competition. First of all creating a short list that wasn’t just very long was a challenge, and when it came to picking the winner and runners up I agonised over those final choices and places. In the end I picked a poem that I felt was really well written, but also just grabbed me.”

On Sunday February 6th at 5.45pm we’re holding an event at the Lighthouse in Wolverhampton city centre where the winners – and some of the thirty shortlisted poets – will be reading their pieces. The event is free, and all are welcome.

The winners.
1st prize: Behind Closed Doors Justina Hart

2nd prize: Pavarotti in China Christopher James

3rd prizes:
Dawn Chorus Brenda Read-Brown
London Rivers Sarah Dale
You can’t swim in a gallery Wendy Allen

WV postcode prize: The bronze library Kenton Samuels

WV postcode runners-up:
A minute’s silence Gaynor Beesley
Blue Hat Beggars Sam Marshall

The following poets made it onto the final shortlist. Congratulations, all, and special thanks to those who made it along to our award ceremony on Feb 6th.

Alexandra Gough, Ann Perrin, Anne Hodnette, Anthony Powers, Carl Alexandersson, Clare Martin, Gerald Kells, Helen Bowie, Hollie Sissons, Janet Hatherley, Jen Overett, John Lancaster, Jonathan Kinsman, Julie Runacres, Lisa Lopresti, Mark Totterdell, Miles Salter, Nick Degg, Olivia Walwyn, Pat Edwards, Paul Francis, Pauline Plummer, Rebecca Dunn, Sarah L Dixon, Shaun Hill, Sheila Jacob, Sibyl Ruth, Sophie Sparham, Stephanie Papa, Tina Cole, Veronica Aaronson.

To see the winning entries from the 2021 Competition please click here.